A new year has just started in the pursuit of loyalty, honesty, kindness and prudence.


12 signs that mark time. 12 symbols that in the Greek zodiac are related to the constellations they resemble, one for each month of the year, while in the Chinese zodiac they are associated with 12 animals, one for each year. Symbolic meanings are attached to each animal, but each animal differs from those that have gone before. In fact, each sign is interpreted on the basis of five elements, water, wood, fire, metal and earth, which help determine the character. The 12 animals therefore come one after the other, alternating their “yin e yang” features, starting from the beginning of the cycle with the yang Rat, then the ying Ox, followed by the Tiger, Rabbit, Dragon, Snake, Horse, Goat, Monkey, Rooster, Dog and Pig.
According to the lunar calendar, the year 2018 stands out because it has an extra month; this is why New Year was celebrated 18 days later than in the previous year. In fact, on 15 February, we said goodbye to the Year of the Rooster and we entered the Year of the Dog, or rather, the Year of the Earth Dog. It is expected to be a lucky year, for couples whose relationships will generally improving, and for those without partners, who might fall in love; a perfect year for new projects for the future.
The energy flow associated with the Dog is in fact marked by honesty and loyalty, kindness and prudence. The natural tendency for this animal to have a peaceful life allows us to predict a calm 2018, a year when it will be easy to trust other people, and also our own intuitions.
The lucky numbers are 3, 4 and 9; the flowers of the year are the rose and the orchid. The lucky colours are red, green and purple.

The Chinese zodiac is divided into 12 animals, one for each year

Chinese Horoscope 02
A Chinese paper cutting of the Dog, made by Fanghong

Celebration of the Chinese Spring Festival in Guangzhou


Privacy Policy
concept & creation by